GO West

Volcanoes National Park lies in northwestern Rwanda and borders Virunga National Park in the Democratic Republic of Congo and Mgahinga Gorilla National Park in Uganda. The national park is known as a haven for the mountain gorilla. It is home to five of the eight volcanoes of the Virunga Mountains (Karisimbi, Bisoke, Muhabura, Gahinga and Sabyinyo).Vegetation here varies considerably due to the large altitudinal range within the park, including bamboo forest, Hagenia-Hypericum forest, which covers about 30% of the park, up to the grassland at an altitude of around 4,400 m. The park, of course, is best known for the Mountain Gorilla. Other mammals include the Golden Monkey, the Spotted Hyena and many others. There are also reported to be some elephants, although now very rare.
We would like to emphasize that the majority of revenue from tourism in the park goes toward maintaining the park and conserving the wildlife. The remainder goes to the government and (around 10%) to local projects in the area to help local people benefit from the large revenue stream generated by the park.
Please follow us from Hatari or Shu’mata to the Mountain Gorillas in Rwanda.

*We recommend the months of july until october and december until march for your travel.


Lake Tanganyika is found on the western border of Tanzania. It is the longest lake in Africa and the second deepest in the world. Because it lies on the Great African Rift, the lake's temperature is typically 23 degrees celcius all year round. The lake boasts visibilities of up to 20m with massive boulders, spectacular drop offs and a shell covered bottom. It is thought to date back 9 to 20 million years and is one of the richest aqueous environments in the world, supporting at least 250 varieties of fish.


The Mahale Mountains are located right next to Lake Tanganyika. Chimpanzee tracking is the main attraction here, beginning in the early morning with the guides usually starting at the area where the Chimpanzees nested the previous night and tracking from there. The animals move in search for fruit, and wherever we find fruit in abundance, they will be found nearby.


 

Mahale Katavi Hopper

Mahale Katavi Hopper

Download (PDF)
Gorilla Hopper

Gorilla Hopper

Download (PDF)

Go West

Folgen sie uns von Hatari oder Shu’mata zu den Berggorillas in Ruanda!

Der Vulkan-Nationalpark befindet sich im nordwestlichen Ruanda. Er grenzt an den Virunga – Nationalpark in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo und an den Mgahinga Gorilla – Nationalpark in Uganda. Der Park ist bekannt für seine Berggorillas. Darüber hinaus befinden sich in ihm fünf der acht Vulkane des Virunga – Gebirges. Die Pflanzenwelt des Nationalparks ist mannigfaltig und ob der unterschiedlichen Höhen in ständigem Wechsel begriffen. Wir finden sowohl Bambuswald, als auch einen Wald von Hageni – Hypericum, der 30% der Parkfläche bedeckt und schliesslich auf über 4000 m Höhe weite Graslandschaften. Neben den Berggorillas beheimatet der Vulkan – Nationalpark solch exquisite Spezies wie den Goldenen Affen und die gefleckte Hyäne. Ein Paradies für Natur – und Wildtierliebhaber!

*Wir empfehlen die Monate Juli - Oktober und Dezember – März als Reisezeit.


Der Tanganyika See, der längste See Afrikas und der zweittiefste der Welt, befindet sich an der westlichen Grenze Tansanias. Er ist Teil des afrikanischen Grabenbruches, weshalb sich die Temperaturen des Sees stets um die 23 Grad Celsius bewegen. Aus dem See ragen bis zu 20m hohe Felsbrocken. Der Boden ist bedeckt mit Muscheln. Man legt ein Alter von 9 - 20 Millionen Jahren für den Tanganyika See zugrunde. Es handelt sich um eine der reichsten Süsswasserzonen der Erde mit über 250 verschiedenen Arten an Fisch.


Die Mahale Berge befinden sich direkt neben dem Tanganyika See. Schimpansen Tracking ist hier die Hauptattraktion. Wir beginnen unsere Tour am frühen Morgen an der Stelle, wo sich das letzte Nachtlager der Schimpansen befand. Die Tiere bewegen sich immer auf der Suche nach Früchten. Überall dort, wo wir reichlich Früchte finden, begegnen uns bald Schimpansen.


 

Mahale Katavi Hopper

Mahale Katavi Hopper

Download (PDF)
Gorilla Hopper

Gorilla Hopper

Download (PDF)